SEARCH    

About NWHN

The Northern and Western Homelessness Networks (NWHNs) work with the six other regional networks across Victoria funded to bring services together to share information, identify common needs and gaps in service provision, and establish close working relationships to promote and assist the best possible response to homelessness within a regional context. Core members are homelessness and family violence agencies receiving funded from the Homelessness Assistance Support Program.

There is a Network Coordinator in each region who manage the Network activities. These positions are auspiced by Wombat Housing and Support Services and Launch Housing. Steering Groups made up of representatives from Specialist Homelessness Services, Family Violence services and the auspice agency informs the general direction of the Network.

NWHN Vision: An end to homelessness

NWHN Aim: We aim to achieve this vision by creating opportunities for all N & W Homelessness Assistance Services to come together to:

  • Develop an informed regional voice on homelessness;
  • Address the causes of homelessness;
  • Advocate for improved responses to people who are homeless or at risk of homelessness; and
  • Build the capacity of the regional service system

The Networks' catchments covers the local government areas of Melton, Wyndham, Brimbank, Hobson's Bay, Maribyrnong, Moonee Valley, parts of the CBD of Melbourne in the West, Hume, Moreland, Whittlesea, Nillumbik, Banyule, Darebin and Yarra.

NWHN & Northern Metro and Western Metro LASN Governance Structure

The NWHNs' Steering Group membership is drawn from the Northern and Western (Local Area Service Networks (LASNs)  The Governance documents (attached below) describe the LASNs and the way the Steering Groups engage/interact with the broader membership to progress the aims and objectives of both the LASNs and the NWHNs.

NWHN Steering Group Members

Western Steering Group

Deb Gorsuch, UnitingCare Werribee

Email: deborah.gorsuch@wsh.org.au

Sue Grigg, Director of Operations, Yarra Community Housing

Email: sgrigg@ych.org.au

Luisa Pisano: NW Regional Children’s Resource Program
Email: luisa@merri.org.au  

Aaron Tan: Coordinator of Housing Services - Melton City Council
Email: aaront@melton.vic.gov.au

Rhonda Collins: Manager - Latitude: Directions for Young People
Email: Rhonda.Collins@latitudedirections.com.au

Paul Turton: Senior Manager Homelessness Services - Melbourne Citymission
Email: sturton@mcm.org.au

Steve Maher: CEO - Wombat Housing and Support Services
Email: steve@wombat.org.au

 

Northern Reference Group

Donna Bennett: Services Manager - Hope St Youth and Family Services
Email: Donna.bennett@hopest.org

Robyn Springall: Operations Co-ordinator - St Vincent De Paul Housing Services

Email: Robyn.springall@svdp-vic.org.au 

Emma Baxter: Northern Housing Services Manager - HomeGround
Email: 
emmab@homeground.org.au 

Events

2017June
29 AHURI One Day Conference: Affordability and Liveability in our City
2017July
21 Women's Health West community education sessions
2017September
13 Save the Date: Victorian Homelessness Conference 2017